Celebrity Search By First Name / Band / Event / Movies / TV Shows
# a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z

Charlize Theron, Elizabeth Olsen Glam Up the Gotham Awards

Posted Monday November 28, 2011 9:57 PM GMT

Making for a star-studded evening celebrating the year's best in cinema, the IFP's 21st Annual Gotham Independent Film Awards took place in New York City on Monday night (November 28).

Held at Cipriani Wall Street, Tinseltown stars such as Charlize Theron,
Elizabeth Olsen, Vera Farminga, Felicity Jones, Jennifer Carpenter and Tilda Swinton all worked the arrivals area before heading inside before the ceremony's onset.

Also on hand for the festivities was former "Sopranos" star Edie Falco, who happened to be co-hosting the event alongside actor Oliver Platt.

During the course of the festivities, Miss Theron, as well as Gary Oldman, Tom Rothman and director David Cronenberg, received Gotham career tributes.

As for the winners, Felicity Jones nabbed herself Breakthrough Actor honors while "Beginners" and Brad Pitt's "Tree Of Life" ended up tying for Best Feature Film accolades.

The complete list of 2011 Gotham Independent Film Awards winners is as follows:

WINNER (tie): "Beginners"
Mike Mills, director; Leslie Urdang, Dean Vanech, Miranda de Pencier, Jay Van Hoy, Lars Knudsen, producers (Focus Features)
"The Descendants"
Alexander Payne, director; Jim Burke, Alexander Payne, Jim Taylor, producers (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
"Meek’s Cutoff"
Kelly Reichardt, director; Neil Kopp, Anish Savjani, Elizabeth Cuthrell, David Urrutia, producers (Oscilloscope Laboratories)
"Take Shelter"
Jeff Nichols, director; Tyler Davidson, Sophia Lin, producers (Sony Pictures Classics)
WINNER (tie): "The Tree of Life"
Terrence Malick, director; Sarah Green, Bill Pohlad, Brad Pitt, Dede Gardner, Grant Hill, producers (Fox Searchlight Pictures)

WINNER: "Better This World"
Katie Galloway and Kelly Duane de la Vega, directors; Katie Galloway, Kelly Duane de la Vega, Mike Nicholson, producers (Loteria Films, Picturebox, Motto Pictures and Passion Pictures; ITVS in association with American Documentary | POV)
"Bill Cunningham New York"
Richard Press, director; Philip Gefter, producer (Zeitgeist Films)
"Hell and Back Again"
Danfung Dennis, director; Mike Lerner, Martin Herring, producers (Docurama Films)
"The Interrupters"
Steve James, director; Alex Kotlowitz, Steve James, producers (The Cinema Guild)
"The Woodmans"
C. Scott Willis, director; Neil Barrett, Jeff Werner, C. Scott Willis, producers (Lorber Films; Kino Lorber, Inc.)

WINNER: "Beginners"
Ewan McGregor, Christopher Plummer, Mélanie Laurent, Goran Visnjic, Kai Lennox, Mary Page Keller, Keegan Boos (Focus Features)
"The Descendants"
George Clooney, Shailene Woodley, Beau Bridges, Robert Forster, Judy Greer, Matthew Lillard, Nick Krause, Amara Miller, Mary Birdsong, Rob Huebel (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
"Margin Call"
Kevin Spacey, Paul Bettany, Jeremy Irons, Zachary Quinto, Penn Badgley, Simon Baker, Mary McDonnell, Demi Moore, Stanley Tucci, Aasif Mandvi (Roadside Attractions)
"Martha Marcy May Marlene"
Elizabeth Olsen, Christopher Abbott, Brady Corbet, Hugh Dancy, Maria Dizzia, Julia Garner, John Hawkes, Louisa Krause, Sarah Paulson (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
"Take Shelter"
Michael Shannon, Jessica Chastain, Tova Stewart, Shea Whigham, Katy Mixon, Kathy Baker, Ray McKinnon, Lisagay Hamilton, Robert Longstreet (Sony Pictures Classics)

Mike Cahill, "Another Earth" (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
Sean Durkin, "Martha Marcy May Marlene" (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
Vera Farmiga, "Higher Ground" (Sony Pictures Classics)
Evan Glodell, "Bellflower" (Oscilloscope Laboratories)
WINNER: Dee Rees, "Pariah" (Focus Features)

WINNER: Felicity Jones, "Like Crazy" (Paramount Vantage)
Elizabeth Olsen, "Martha Marcy May Marlene" (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
Harmony Santana, "Gun Hill Road" (Motion Film Group)
Shailene Woodley, "The Descendants" (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
Jacob Wysocki, "Terri" (ATO Pictures)

"Codependent Lesbian Space Alien Seeks Same"
Madeleine Olnek, director; Laura Terruso, Madeleine Olnek, producers
Sophia Takal, director; Lawrence Michael Levine, producer
"The Redemption of General Butt Naked"
Eric Strauss, Daniele Anastasion, directors and producers
WINNER: "Scenes of a Crime"
Blue Hadaegh & Grover Babcock, directors and producers
Mark Jackson, director; Mark Jackson, Jessica Dimmock, Michael Requa, Jaime Keeling, producers

Enjoy the pictures from IFP's 21st Annual Gotham Independent Film Awards (November 28).

Photo Credit: Getty Images

Other articles you might like